A Sobekatean Self-Dedication Rite

I know, I know, I meant to post this ages ago. Shit got busy, yeah? Anyway. Here’s the rite I did back in October last year, though I have taken out some of the personal things, such as the name I took, and the anointings I did. It’s free for anyone to adopt if they want to. I pieced it together from a few different rites I’d read, and made the rest up myself.  I think it worked well for what it is, and it was what I needed at the time.

I’ll do a separate post on the circle-casting thing, as well as a few other bits and pieces. Right now, I’m in the process of making another Book of Shadows. This one is A4 size, and I’ve actually had a go at aging the paper using my Inktense watercolour pencils, which seems to have worked well enough. I’m just painting the covers now. It’s a prototype, to be honest, and if it works out well enough, I might make another for the shop. I’ve never made a coptic stitch book with 400 pages in it, nor with aged paper, so I don’t know how well it’ll work, but I won’t know if I don’t try it, so.

Which reminds me. I wanted to do a post on all the books of shadows and grimoires and ritual books and whatnot I have, because there are many, and perhaps it’s time. I don’t think I’ve ever done a post like that before, but that should be interesting.

Anyway. The rite is below the cut, for what it’s worth, three months after I said I’d post it. At least this is a job I can cross off my list at last.

A rite of self-dedication before Sobek and Hekate
Preparations:
Purify self with khernips, made by dropping rosemary and salt into some water. Wash hands and face.

Items Needed:
– Altar to Hekate and Sobek
– Knife
– Candle/Lamp for Hestia
– Bell
– Libation bowl
– Offerings (wine and grain (Hestia), and whatever else you like)
– Anointing oil
– Divination tool
– Incense, flame, salt, bowl of water (circle casting)
– Matches
– Anything else you wish to dedicate or consecrate within circle (jewellery, tools, statues, BoS/journal, etc)

The Ritual:
Procession:
Step outside room, pause a moment, then slowly process to the altar.

Ring bell nine times.

Light candles, and offer barley and wine to Hestia.
“To Hestia, given honour first and last. Lend your fire to this rite.”

Encircle the space.
“O you gods in the north, my heka is the heka of Ra, my heka encircles you.”
“O you gods in the south, my heka is the heka of Wesir, my heka encircles you.”
“O you gods in the east, my heka is the heka of Heru, my heka encircles you.”
“O you gods in the west, my heka is the heka of Sobek, my heka encircles you.”
“O you gods in the heavens, my heka is the heka of Nut, my heka encircles you.”
“O you gods on the earth, my heka is the heka of Geb, my heka encircles you.”
“Lend me your magic as you guard this space.
May it be pure, may it be pure, may it be pure. may it be pure.”

Offer flame to each:
“Receive the light, o gods of the north/south/east/west/heavens/earth, receive the light. Come to the shrine, o gods, and receive the light.”

Offer incense to each.
“Sweet is the incense on the flame, o gods of the north/south/east/west/heavens/earth, sweet is the incense on the flame.
Come to the shrine, o gods, come to the shrine.
Sweet is the incense on the flame.”

Dip knife blade into bowl of salt:
“May it be pure, may it be pure, may it be pure, may it be pure.”

Add salt to water, and drop a lit match in it:
“Ekas, Ekas, ostis alitros!”

Asperge self and perimeter of the circle to cleanse it.

Ring bell nine times.

Say:
“The circle is cast, the circle is set,
The circle will stand until the magic is met.”

Ring bell nine times.

Anoint self with oil on forehead and heart:
“Hail to you, Sobek, who commands the great flood,
Hail to you, Hekate, brightshining queen of the night,
Your servant calls to you this night,
Come forth, Shining Ones,
Come to the fire,
Where I stand waiting for You.”

Raise arms to heaven and earth:
“As above, so below,
Hail Hekate, lunar brow,
As below, so above,
Hail Hekate, full of love,

As above, so below,
Hail Sobek, boat in tow,
As below, so above,
Hail Sobek, full of love.”

Chant until their presence is felt. Move around the circle if desired.

Kneel before the altar and offer hands to Them.
“Hail, Theoi,
Hail, Netjeru,
Hail to you, gods before the shrine,
Hail to you, Sobek,
Hail to you, Hekate,
Hail to you who have claimed me now,
Your servant comes to you, shining ones,
To dedicate myself to this path, and to you,
To bind myself to my studies,
To growing in strength and skill with you.
Come now to bear witness to my dedication,
To hear the words I speak to you now.”

Libations and offerings.

Meditate and prepare to make the dedication.

Dedication:
“Hekate, Sobek,
Here I do stand before you,
naked and unadorned,
To dedicate myself to you,
And to this path of witchcraft.
I emrbace the power without,
and I embrace the power within,
An I look to you, Torchbearer,
And to you, Lord of the Waters,
To light the way to knowledge and wisdom,
And to empower the work I do in your names.
I am a witch.
This magic is mine.
I ask for your blessings,
and that you will accept me as your own.”

Cast an omen to discern whether it was accepted.

If no:
“I accept your wisdom, great ones,
There shall be no oath this night.
Go in peace, mighty Ones,
The circle is released,
Til we meat in peace again.”

If yes:
“With this omen, I do proceed.
You have graciously accepted me,
and I now dedicate myself to you,
And to this path of witchcraft.
May you always guide me.
May I alwaks seek wisdom within, and without.
May I become the witch you see in me.
May this dedication last until such time as it is no longer needed,
Where it will be dissolved and I will no longer be so bound.
May we then go our separate ways in peace.”

Anoint brow and heart (and wherever else you like):
“As a sign of my dedication to you,
I shall take the name you gave me,
Before the gods, in this circle,
I call to you now as your child, $name.
A name I speak only before you and the gods.
May my tongue be silenced if I ever divulge it to anyone outside of this circle.”

Meditate. Consecrate jewellery, tools, etc, whatever you feel is needed to finish the dedication.

When finished, make final offering to Hestia of wine and barley.
“To Hestia, given honour first and last. Thank you for lending your fire to this rite.”

Take up knife, and undo the encirling.
“O you gods on the earth, be released! The heka of Nut releases you!”
“O you gods in the Heavens, be released! The heka of Geb releases you!”
“O you gods in the west, be released! The heka of Sobek releases you!”
“O you gods in the east, be released! The heka of Heru releases you!”
“O you gods in the south, be released! The heka of Wesir releases you!”
“O you gods in the north, be released! The heka of Ra releases you!”
“I thank you for lending me your magic, and for guarding this space.”
“Go in peace, o gods, that we might make magic together again.”

“Praise and thanks to you, O Gods,
For guarding this rite, and bearing witness to my dedication,
As this flame is extinguished,
So is this circle dissolved.
Hail and farewell, until we meet again.”

Ring bell nine times.

“It is done. Esto!”

Leave a Reply

