#domagick: The Crook and the Flail

So, I’ve been thinking about what to do for this particular challenge, and reading back over one of the last scenes I wrote for my NaNo last year involved Isis calling my protag to the temple to help them begin to heal from all the shit they’d been through.

I can always tell when the gods are sneaking through and it’s more than just my own dialogue, and it’s there in this scene, where Isis takes them to this shrine, and of all the symbols Isis gives them, She gives them the crook and the flail, as a sign to take back their own power and authority, to own their own skin and to be their own person again. It’s a sovereignty thing.

Rereading that tonight, I pondered whether that was something I might consider in more than just an abstract way. To make a crook and a flail, and to use them to build up my own sense of sovereignty. To claim this life for myself, and to own it in a way I’ve often been too scared to do before. To take my power and own it.

I don’t know if this will be my final project, but it’s certainly one I’m considering. At the very least, it would be interesting to make them and see what it’s like to use them in ritual and magic, to see how they work with me, and with my magic.

Leave a Reply

