A Full Moon Rite

So I’ve been neglecting my full moon rites for a while now as I kept searching and pondering and trying to decide what I even wanted to do. Hekate and Isis have both asked me to keep the full moon rites, so finding one wasn’t just to bulk up my ritual collection, it had a practical purpose.

I have to say, I am very picky when it comes to full moon rites. I didn’t realise this until I went to find one to regularly include in my practice, and found basically none that worked for me. I hated them all. There was always some little thing, or some big thing, that just didn’t resonate.

Okay, so most of the ones you find googling are Wiccish, and I expected that and that’s okay, but I still felt like somewhere, I’d find something I could bodge and modify and make my own. Nope. That wasn’t where I found my inspiration.

Do you know where I found the rite I resonated with the most? In last year’s fkn NaNoWriMo novel, where – get this – the very first scene I wrote was a fkn full moon riteTHE VERY FIRST SCENE.

This is where you can see how fkn clueless I can be when the gods try to tell me shit via my writing. I didn’t even twig that it was a rite I COULD ACTUALLY USE until about a week ago. :D? (Even though THAT WAS HOW I HAD WRITTEN IT IN THE FIRST PLACE WTF SELF.)

It even came with its own divination activity, since I just can’t with a full moon rite that is 3/4 circle casting/closing with a hymn or two in the middle. Like, what is the actual point of that. You do not need to cast a circle to recite hymns to the gods. Do some actual fkn magic if you’re going to go to the trouble of casting a fkn circle, ffs. (Magic in addition to the circle-casting, obvs. You know what I mean.) I mean, this was why I left Wicca behind as a baby!Pagan. Too much circle-casting, not enough Actual Ritual With Gods. /I have a lot of feelings about this sorry.

I think a lot of my problems with full moon rites comes from trying to balance Hekate witchy stuff with more vaguely-reconish Hellenic stuff and my druidic stuff and it all just ends up in this incompatible mess in my head that’s hard to work out. It’s definitely a Hekate thing, and it ends up with me not knowing what context to work in. Witchcraft, druidism, and Hellenic rituals all have very different structures, and they’re not all easily compatible. So I never really know what works for Hekate, since She seems to be happy with, well, anything that seems to work for me, which is, well. Nice, but not always helpful. Sometimes, I just want Her to pick one, just to give me something to work with.

Anyway. I’ll post below the rite I came up with. I haven’t tried it yet, and I may still make some tweaks to it, but this isn’t a bad attempt at a full moon rite that doesn’t set my teeth on edge. So we’ll see how it goes at the next full moon, and go from there.

Specific things of note:

  • Selene, Artemis, and Hekate hymns I googled on Nov 1, and of course I didn’t note down the sources why would I do that ahaha. Selene and Artemis are Homeric hymns, and IDEK where the fuck I got that Hekate one from. But there you go. I may swap them out at some point but idk man I really dig that Artemis hymn (it is my favourite Artemis hymn), so I might keep that one at least.
  • When I originally wrote this ritual in the novel, it included cauldron scrying (i.e. fill a cauldron/bowl with water, scry in it). However, I am terrible at scrying (I am no good at abstract visualisation things – and yet, I have painted my two round mirrors black this afternoon idek) so I would be more inclined towards a different sort of divination or meditation technique. I kept the original invocation because I liked it.
  • I start my ritual step counting from 0. Because I am a nerd.
  • I’m tempted to fit Isis in here somewhere, but IDK. I might just come up with a separate invocation for Her and add that as an addendum later, so I can switch it in if I feel the need to honour Her at that point in time.
  • I seriously feel like this is the best combo of witchy/Hellenic/druidic ritual shit I could ever have come up with wtf. Which is why I’m inclined to keep the old hymns, rather than use new ones.
  • I also have a particular circle-casting thingie I want to use for this, which I also still need to try out. She woke me up at idk o’clock one morning with words floating in my head, and I had to write it down before I could go back to sleep again. It’s based around the Hounds of Hekate, and was inspired by a Hounds of Hekate warding I saw posted somewhere on the internet a while ago. I’ll have to dig up a link to that at some point when I post about the circle-casting/closing.
  • It is ridiculously minimal in terms of ritual instructions, partly because the rite is very simple and also I haven’t tested it to know how I will end up performing it in terms of ritual gestures and tools and whatnot, so. Also because this is usually how I format rites for myself, rather than rites I post for sharing with others. I use a lot of shorthand based on how I do things.

 

Anyway. Enough of my babble. My Acer has crashed once already in the middle of writing this (thank fuck WP saves drafts every second or I would be mad af.) Have a full moon rite that is, well. Complete enough to begin testing, at any rate. Feel free to concrit/beta test/modify/enjoy/etc.

 

A Full Moon Ritual

Items:
– circle-casting things (for however you cast circle)
– Offerings and libations
– Libation bowl
– Divination tool (cauldron of water, tarot, runes, whatever you like)
– musical signal (bell, rattle, drum, etc)
– Hestia’s candle/lamp, and any other candles/lamps
– Incense (frankincense, or whatever else you feel works well)
0. Chanting and musical signal.

1. Casting circle and setting up sacred space.

2. Lighting Hestia’s candle, and first offerings.
“O Hestia,
Light of the World,
given honour first and last.
Illuminate this rite
as the moon illuminates the earth on this night.”

3. Statement of purpose and invitation to the gods.
“O Theoi, O Athanatoi,
bright shining ones who illuminate all who walk the earth,
bright gods of the moonlight night,
come, your servant calls to you.
Come, receive your offerings, mighty ones.”

4. Invocation and offering to Selene.
Sweet voiced Muses, daughters of the Goddess,
Well-skilled in song, tell of the long-winged Moon.
From her immortal head a radiance
Is shown from heaven and embraces earth;
And great is the beauty that arises from her shining light.

The air, unlit before, glows with the light of her golden crown,
And her rays beam clear, whensoever bright Selene
Having bathed her lovely body in the waters of Okeanos,
And donned her far-gleaming, shining team,
Drives on her long-maned horses at full speed,
At eventide in the mid-month:
Then her great orbit is full
And then her beams shine brightest as she increases.

So she is a sure token and a sign to mortal women.
Hail, white-armed goddess, bright Selene,
Mild, bright-tressed queen!

5. Invocation and offerings to Artemis.
“I sing of Artemis, whose shafts are of gold,
who cheers on the hounds,
the pure maiden,
shooter of stags, who delights in archery,
own sister to Apollon with the golden sword.

Over the shadowy hills and windy peaks,
she draws her golden bow, rejoicing in the chase,
and sends out grievous shafts.

The tops of the high mountains tremble
and the tangled wood echoes awesomely with the outcry of beasts:
earth quakes and the sea also where fishes shoal.

But the goddess with a bold heart turns every way
destroying the race of wild beasts:
and when she is satisfied and has cheered her heart,
this huntress who delights in arrows slackens her supple bow
and goes to the great house of her dear brother Phoebus Apollon,
to the rich land of Delphi,
there to order the lovely dance of the Muses and Graces.

There she hangs up her curved bow and her arrows,
and heads and leads the dances, gracefully arrayed,
while all they utter their heavenly voice,
singing how neat-ankled Leto bare children supreme among the immortals
both in thought and in deed.
Hail to you, children of Zeus and rich-haired Leto!
And now I will remember you and another song also.”

6. Invocation and offerings to Hekate.
“I invoke you, beloved Hekate of the Crossroads and the Three Ways,
Saffron-cloaked Goddess of the Heavens, the Underworld and the Sea,
Tomb-frequenter, mystery-raving with the souls of the dead,
Daughter of Perses, Lover of the Wilderness who exults among the deer,
Nightgoing One, Protectress of dogs, Unconquerable Queen,
Beast-roarer, Dishevelled One of compelling countenance,
Tauropolos, Keyholding Mistress of the whole world,
Ruler, Nymph, Mountain-wandering
Nurturer of youth.
Maiden, I beg you to be present at these sacred rites,
Ever with a gladsome heart and ever gracious to the Oxherd.”

7. Divination, meditation, scrying, and contemplation.
“O Artemis, Farshooter,
O Hekate, who comes in the blackest night,
O Selene, who lights up the darkest corners of the earth,
show me your faces.
Show me the truth.
Show me that which cannot hide.
Show me that which I seek tonight above all else.”

Ask your question, do your divination, do some contemplation or meditation, record your results and/or experiences.

8. Final offerings and the blessing.
“O Theoi, O Athanatoi,
you who shine brightly in the dark night,
who have illuminated my ritual with you tonight,
I thank you.
I thank you for your presence.
I thank you for sharing your truths.
I thank you for your continued blessings in my life.
As I offer to you, may you pour down your blessings upon your servant tonight.”

9. Reverting the offerings.
“As I eat, may you be strengthened.
As I drink, may you never thirst.
As we share in this meal, may we never hunger.
Open my heart to your wisdom.
May it shine with radiance as Selene shines down upon me now.”

10. Final offering to Hestia.
“O Hestia,
bright flame who illuminates the world,
given honour first and last, as is your due.
May your fire never burn out.”

11. Taking down the circle.

12. Musical signal to end the rite.

2 thoughts on “A Full Moon Rite

    1. Awesome, glad I could offer something new for you. Do let me know how you get on with it, and feel free to change it up to suit the way you work if you want to. I’ll be trying it at the full moon, too, along with my circle-casting thingie. It’ll be interesting to see how they work in practice.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

