Hounds of Hekate circle casting

I’m still figuring out the gestures and movements for this, because I have this irrational ‘can’t go clockwise/against the sun*’ thing in my head that may not really work for this. I’m the Zoolander of witches, can’t turn right. I know a lot of it is Kemetic-related. The idea that you’d move against the direction of the sun just feels … wrong. But it may not be appropriate for this casting, so I’m going to have to try this out a few more times and figure out how best to make it work for me. And maybe tell my brain to shut up about the movements and let it go.

But in the meantime, I thought I’d at least share the words She dumped into my head, since they’re as done as they’re going to get. I almost wish She’d given me a plain E-N-W-S progression, rather than all the crossing that’s involved here, it would make things a lot easier. But no. This is what She wanted. Hence, it is taking a while to figure out a set of movements that flows well enough for my liking.

Once I have a coherent set of movement/gesture instructions, I’ll add it to the grimoire proper. For now, have some circle-casting words.

* The sun moves right to left across the north side of the sky down here, so deosil and widdershins are opposite to what they are in the northern hemisphere.

Circle-Casting: Hounds of Hekate

Offerings: fresh water, and good meat if possible.

To cast:
Here I stand, the centre be,
With Fire, Well, and Sacred Tree,
Land, Sky, Sea, at crossroads meet,
Hekate, I call to Thee

East, West, North, South,
Hear the howling of the hounds,

West, North, South, East,
Hear the baying of the beasts,

North, South, East, West,
Hunting hounds, who never rest,

South, East, West, North,
Hounds of Hekate, come forth!

(present offering to the hounds at each direction)

Guard the east, the place of dawn,
Guard the west, where sun returns,
Guard the north, I ask of thee,
Guard the south, hounds of Hekate,

Travel now the circle rounds,
Guard it well, keen hunting hounds,
Guard my magics, guard this space,
I work my will within this place.

Guard the south, I ask of thee,
Guard the north, sweet Hekate,
Guard the west, where sun returns,
Guard the east, the place of dawn,

South, East, West, North,
Hounds of Hekate, come forth!

North, South, East, West,
Hunting hounds, who never rest,

West, North, South, East,
Hear the baying of the beasts,

East, West, North, South,
Hear the howling of the hounds,

Hekate, I call to Thee
Land, Sky, Sea, at crossroads meet,
With Fire, Well, and Sacred Tree,
Here I stand, the centre be.

To Take Down:
Here I stand, the centre be,
With Fire, Well, and Sacred Tree,
Land, Sky, Sea, at crossroads meet,
Hekate, I call to Thee

North, South, East, West,
Hounds of Hekate, at rest!

South, East, West, North,
Thank you, hunting hounds, go forth!

East, West, North, South,
Walk the circle, inside out!

West, North, South, East,
Walk the circle, now, release!

Farewell to east, the place of dawn,
Farewell to west, where sun returns,
Farewell to north, I thank you now,
Farewell to south, great hunting hounds,

Travel now the circle rounds,
Release it well, keen hunting hounds,
Release my magics, leave this space,
My will is done within this place.

Farewell to south, great hunting hounds,
Farewell to north, I thank you now,
Farewell to west, where sun returns,
Farewell to east, the place of dawn,

West, North, South, East,
Walk the circle, now, release!

East, West, North, South,
Walk the circle, inside out

South, East, West, North,
Thank you, hunting hounds, go forth!

North, South, East, West,
Hounds of Hekate, at rest!

Hekate, I call to Thee
Land, Sky, Sea, at crossroads meet,
With Fire, Well, and Sacred Tree,
Here I stand, the centre be.

Leave a Reply

